Thinking about how I would start working on a problem if I were to work on it, which I probably should

November 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

The problem.

First thought: Is the increase in observed seismicity just the aftershocks of one or more moderately large earthquakes? Eyeballing the data, that doesn’t seem to be the case. There was no especially large earthquake in Oklahoma early 2010.

Second thought: Is it a catalog completeness issue? Is it just that more microearthquakes are being detected, rather than more microearthquakes actually occurring? I looked at the data for a bit. It’s a pain to clean. There are hints of some effect of this kind going on, but I should get the data into some kind of definitive form before jumping to conclusions. I’m going to have to do this properly, aren’t I? Damn.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thinking about how I would start working on a problem if I were to work on it, which I probably should at "But it's under .05!".

meta

